Cultivating Capacity: Building Data Science and Data Centers Across Africa

February 23, 2022 12pm ET / 9am PT / 5pm GMT / 8pm EAT

How can greater data science capacity across Africa increase the effectiveness of NGO’s and governments serving local populations? Join the Center for Effective Global Action (CEGA) and data.org for a roundtable discussion exploring the building blocks required to build robust localized data science capacity that can accelerate social impact projects on the ground. This session will be led by data science practitioners across Africa who will share their experiences building capacity in Africa and suggest concrete strategies, educational requirements, and potential partnerships that can accelerate progress and advance social impact on the ground. Participants will gain a clear picture of the challenges and opportunities associated with data capacity in Africa, as well as concrete approaches for driving progress. 

Watch the Webinar

Speakers

Davis Adieno

Director of Programs

Global Partnership for Sustainable Development Data 

Davis Adieno is the Director of Programs for the Global Partnership for Sustainable Development Data, based in Nairobi, Kenya. He works across sectors through national data roadmap processes to define strategies that support their priorities for investments and innovations in data.

Read more

Olasimbo Sojinrin is a Gender and Energy expert and a strong advocate for renewable energy and women empowerment in Africa. She is currently the Country Director at Solar Sister Nigeria, where she leads a network of women entrepreneurs distributing clean energy products in underserved communities across Nigeria.

Read more

Engineer Bainomugisha

Associate Professor of Computer Science and the Chair of the Department of Computer Science

Makerere University

Engineer Bainomugisha is an Associate Professor of Computer Science and the Chair of the Department of Computer Science at Makerere University. Engineer’s research focuses on Computer Science-driven solutions to the prevailing world challenges.

Read more
  • Moderator

Ronda Železný-Green, Ph.D.

Program Director, Capacity Accelerator Network (CAN)

data.org

Ronda Železný-Green, Ph.D. is the Program Director for the Capacity Accelerator Network (CAN). She is a diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) changemaker creating systems to empower Black people, women, people with disabilities, and other marginalized populations in the technology and education sectors.

Read more