Organization Type

Social Impact Organization



Established in February 1991, The African Capacity Building Foundation (ACBF) is the outcome of a partnership between African governments and the international donor community. Its mission is to build sustainable human and institutional capacity for sustainable growth and poverty reduction in Africa.

ACBF’s vision is to be the leading African institution in building sustainable capacity for good governance and economic transformation in Africa.

ACBF’s membership consists of 39 African countries that include, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (DRC), Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Conakry, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tomé & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The Foundation has also benefited from the financial support of 13 non-African countries, namely Austria, Canada; Denmark; Finland; France; Greece; India; Ireland; The Netherlands; Norway; Sweden; United Kingdom, and the United States of America and 3 multilateral institutions, namely the World Bank, the African Development Bank (AfDB), and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Since its inception, ACBF has supported capacity-building programs and projects in 45 African countries.