August26

Deep Learning Indaba data.org Panel

Charting a Course Forward: Growing AI & ML in Africa (and How to Build Diverse Talent to Drive It)

Date & Time
August 26, 202211am ET / 8am PT / 3pm GMT / 8:30pm IST
Location

Ecole Supérieure des Communications de Tunis (Higher School of Communication of Tunis)
Tunis, Tunisia
(Google Map)

Organizer

Deep Learning Indaba

Website
deeplearningindaba.com

Deep Learning Indaba data.org Panel

August 26, 2022 11am ET / 8am PT / 3pm GMT / 8:30pm IST
Register now

Six years ago Deep Learning Indaba was conceived with two main objectives: increasing African contribution to advances in artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML), and expanding diversity in these fields. As we emerge from a global pandemic, these priorities of enabling substantive and diverse African contribution to AI, ML, and data talent more broadly have never been more important. The social impact sector, in particular, has not harnessed the potential of data, and there is an enormous opportunity to engage organizations and individuals in creating data-driven solutions to the world’s most pressing problems.

In this hour-long event, data.org will lead a panel of leaders—Bayo Adekanbi, Dr. Bubacarr Bah, Dr. Agnes Kigarra, and Dr. Vukosi Marivate—with experience in effecting the transformation of organizations and people to harness the potential of data. Building on findings in data.org’s new report Workforce Wanted: Data Talent for Social Impact, panelists will offer perspectives on the four pathways to increasing data talent identified in the report. Reflecting on discussions and observations from the week at Deep Learning Indaba, the panel closes with forward-looking ideas for charting the course forward for data talent across Africa.

Speakers

Olubayo (Bayo) Adekanmbi combines 19 years of cognate industry experience in Strategy, Marketing, Analytics and Business Transformation from the two largest economies in Africa (Nigeria and South Africa).  He is a C-level executive at MTN Nigeria, Africa’s largest telecommunication company, where he has also been awarded the distinguished award for…

Read more

Dr. Bubacarr Bah

Associate Professor and Head of Data Science

Medical Research Council Unit The Gambia at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Bubacarr Bah has recently been appointed as Associate Professor and Head of Data Science in the Medical Research Council (MRC) Unit – The Gambia, at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine.

Read more

Dr. Agnes Kiragga

Research Scientist and Technical Lead Data Science

African Population and Health Research Centre (APHRC)

Agnes Kiragga is a Research Scientist and Technical Lead Data Science under the Data Science and Evaluation unit at the African Population Health Research Council in Nairobi, Kenya. 

Read more