• Past Event

Frontiers of Social Innovation 2022

To Unlock the Power of Data, First Build Trust

Event occurred on
March 24, 20221:55pm ET / 10:55am PT / 6:55pm GMT / 9:55pm EAT
Location

Virtual

Organizer

Stanford Social Innovation Review

Website
ssirfrontiers.org

Frontiers of Social Innovation 2022

March 24, 2022 1:55pm ET / 10:55am PT / 6:55pm GMT / 9:55pm EAT

Data holds the power to tackle society’s greatest challenges and improve lives across the globe. But this transformation and impact will not happen overnight. Building just, equitable, and sustainable data ecosystems requires time, resources, and strategic deliberations in recruiting talent, designing architecture, defining standards, and implementing governance. It also requires trust, a fundamental asset that is instrumental to the success of data science’s ability to drive social impact and to dismantle power structures that reinforce systems of oppression.

In this panel Ginger Zielinskie, data.org chief strategy officer; Rachele Hendricks-Sturrup, National Alliance against Disparities in Patient Health chief data governance officer; and Rey Faustino, Alluma interim CEO, will share the findings of RECoDE, the Rising Equitable Community Data Ecosystems project. The panelists will discuss the impetus for the project, which reached nearly 500 people through a series of surveys, interviews, and convenings; the thought behind the novel methodology; and the potential impact of their real-world application.

Speakers

Ginger Zielinskie is the Senior Advisor at data.org, where she works to bring the power of data science to the world’s most challenging social problems. With over twenty years of experience, Ginger serves as an action-oriented executive leader focused on building strong partnerships to achieve systematic and meaningful change.

Read more