The Five Data Superpowers & Voices of Those Who Wield Them 

May 19, 2022 10am ET / 7am PT / 2pm GMT / 5pm EAT

So you want to become “data-driven”, “AI-enabled”, and otherwise supercharged with the latest and greatest data innovation to deliver on your mission? 

In this webinar, former data.org Fellow Jake Porway will introduce five data superpowers that social organizations can build to increase their impact. Current and available guides to increasing data maturity tend to focus on well-worn territories, like data for fundraising, or get bogged down in technical language like “predictive analytics” or “AI”, without providing practical ways to apply it. Building on research done at data.org, we’ll explain these superpowers as attainable and sustainable ways for nonprofits to use data and computing to drive impact. As a participant, you’ll hear directly from social sector organizations that are leading with their data superpowers and leave with inspiration and best practices for harnessing your own. 

Watch the Webinar

Speakers

Jake Porway loves seeing the good values in bad data. As a frustrated corporate data scientist, Porway co-founded DataKind, a nonprofit that harnesses the power of Data Science and AI in the service of humanity by providing pro bono data science services to mission-driven organizations.

Read more

Alison Carlman

Senior Director of Evidence, Learning, and Innovation

GlobalGiving

As Senior Director of Evidence, Learning, and Innovation, Alison helps GlobalGiving generate evidence, share learning, and collaborate with peers in philanthropy and global development.

Read more

Mohammad Radiyat

Data Scientist, Data Science & Analytics

DonorsChoose

Mohammad Radiyat is the Data Scientist, Data Science & Analytics for DonorsChoose. Mohammad loves telling impactful stories with data, and is happy to be able to use his data science and machine learning experience to support DonorsChoose on its mission.

Read more